Back porch – Round One

Sarah and I have chosen to get working on the basement and kitchen so we can have a couple more rooms to rent by august. To have more rooms we need a biger kitchen, and to get a bigger kitchen we are going to expand onto the back porch. Here in lies the rub.

The back porch had some soft spots in the floor which I learned was caused by an insect that has slowly been eating away at the wood over the last 50 years. Becasue the wood wasn’t dried and the porch foundation was sealed shut, we have a very humid condition which allowed the bug to survive all there generations. On top of it, the brick that this sits on is in REALLY bad shape as well.
This weekend I began what I thought would be a one or two day ordeal. The idea: jack up the structure and replace the bad brick with good cinderblocks.

I stated tearing off the siding and the layer of thin wood underneath when I heard a loud bang sound. I froze as I figured that the wood was so bad that it was giving out and the porch was going to rip off of my house. I just stood there, waiting for the next sound. Luckily it didn’t come. I went inside and told sarah I was in over my head and she got me to start calling buddies. Thank God for community.

bad wood picture

Greg came by and definatly gave some confidence to the situation. Then I set up a work day for the next day.
Mike Butak and Paul Allen came by to help out, and Casey made it over to consult and drop off a jack. After all is said and done for the day, my porch is preatty much floating on some jacks and I now know how bad the situation is.

Next weekend Mike (as well as anyone else I can find) and I are going to knock out the bad wood and brick and replace it.

Click here to check out more photos from this project

Leave a Reply

